Children Services -
Safe Havens for Newborns
Not all women who get pregnant are ready to raise a child. Sometimes they see no options. Safe Havens provide an alternative to abandonment of a newborn. It allows a birth parent to leave a newborn baby (less than 30 hours old) with a hospital, fire department, emergency service organization, or a peace officer of a law enforcement agency. The parent will face no legal consequences if the child is surrendered unharmed.
Frequently Asked Questions From Ohio's Safe Havens for Newborns
Does the birth parent have to call before taking an infant to a Safe Haven?
No. A birth parent may take a newborn to a Safe Haven at any time until the child is 72 hours, or three days, old.
What information will the birth parent have to provide?
The birth parent is not required to provide any information, including his or her name. However, it would help the baby if the birth parent chose to provide basic health information. The birth parent will be offered a form to guide them in providing the most important health information.
What happens next?
If the baby needs medical attention, it will be provided. The professional staff person who accepts the baby will contact the county children services agency; and the baby will be placed in an adoptive home. There are many families who want to adopt a baby.
When a parent cannot care for an infant, leaving the baby at a Safe Haven may be the best choice for the child. If the birth parent is not sure about this decision, an adoption social worker can help by providing information on available options and services for birth parents and their babies.
Information is also available online at: HELP ME GROW or call toll free: 1-800-755-4769.
Any birth parent who wants to raise a baby but doesn't know how, may also call the Help Me Grow hotline to get information about caring for and raising children.
Ohio Safe Havens for Newborns